Getting to Know Ya

I’m an old-timer. I’ve been playing since March 2005, my first character was a druid that I leveled as resto, in caster form, killing creatures by hitting things with a mace. Yup, things are that different. I still remember timing corehound spawns, and spec’ing for innervate, just so I could use it on the priest. (Ewwwww!). I also remember rolling a rogue alt, simply because the grind to 60 was faster than killing anything as a healer.

Through it all, I’ve played with the same group of friends. And (at least since the beginning of TBC), we’ve settled into the same guild.

I have 4 level 80 characters, with a range of gear levels.

5493 – cat / bear druid
5149 – blood tank / blood dps DK
4280 – MM / BM hunter
3886 – ret / prot pally

A few of my favorite things:

I love making leveling a challenge, and so I have a number of special-purpose alts. A hunter with 1 defense rating, a character I’m leveling with 0 deaths (on a pvp server, 6th(?) time must be a charm), a druid I xp-cap and use to tank low-level instances…

I love data. I collect data on everything. Not to min-max, just to play with charts and graphs. Oh yeah, I’m a geek.

I love lore. I make backstories for my characters – and I’m not on an RP server. Example. Once upon a time, my main was a gnome alchemist tinkering in Stonetalon Mountains.  He mixed an elune stone with a Winterfall Firewater potion, just to see what happened. The explosion landed him in Stonebull Lake, with amnesia and 100% more cowform. His name comes from the scream the villagers heard as he landed in the lake. The incident has left him with some odd personality quirks, including finding the Orb of Deception oddly comforting.

Oh, and I love tanking pugs.

Whats in this blog?

Descriptions of random ideas / projects in WoW.

Data-driven examinations of popular WoW myths.

Whatever else comes to my increasingly random mind.

Hopefully that excites someone out there in the interwebbed pipe-system thingy.  Or at least I can keep this stuff organized… my brains get scrambled with all this stuff hopping around – it is worse than keeping track of my cat druid’s dps rotations.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

